Sciences and Exploration Directorate (600) Recent Awards & Honors

RAS logo

Royal Astronomical Society Honorary Fellowship

Honoree: Rita M Sambruna (she/her/hers) (660)
PDF of Fellowship letter
Space Grant logo

National Space Grant Distinguished Service Award

Recipient: John C Mather (660)
The Space Grant Distinguished Service Award was established in 2004 to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to our understanding of space and aeronautics and who have also demonstrated a commitment to the development of future generations of space and aeronautics professionals. Dr. Mather will be honored at the annual meeting of the National Council of Space Grant Directors, which is scheduled for Thursday, March 2, 2023.

AAS Laboratory Astrophysics Prize

Jan, 2023
Recipient: Reggie L. Hudson (691)
Reggie Hudson awarded the AAS Laboratory Astrophysics Prize in recognition of his contributions to the understanding of the chemistry of ices in the interstellar medium and in the Solar System.

AMS Joanne Simpson Mentorship Award

Jan, 2023
Recipient: Ralph A Kahn (613)
For an exceptional career filled with dedication to mentoring with compassion, generosity, encouragement and scientific integrity
American Meteorological Society

Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

Recipients: Rita M Sambruna (she/her/hers) (660), Jennifer J Wiseman (660), Dorothy M Peteet (611)
Three SED scientists have been named 2022 fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in recognition of their scientifically and socially distinguished achievements in the scientific enterprise.
AAS 2022 Fellows list
NASA Feature Story

610HBG Award: Best Publication – First Author Non-Civil Servant

Recipient: Robert Alexander Emberson (617)
For “Global connections between El Nino and landslide impacts”
See all Awards »
NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration