Atmospheric Chemistry and Dynamics (614) Local News Archive

Search Filter


Showing 1 to 17 of 17.

Results Page: 1

Poster Blowout 2019 is in the books!

photo of people at the poster party

Photos from this year's Poster Blowout are available now. Congratulations to everyone, especially this year's winners!

Jethva Seen on India's NDTV

Dr. Hiren Jethva took part in a panel discussion regarding this year's crop burning season over northern India on Trending @ 10 on NDTV (New Delhi Television) – a national-level news media in India.

Poster Blowout 2018

Note from the Director:
I would like to thank the Director’s Science Committee for putting on an amazingly successful event where scientists and engineers across Goddard shared their work and made new contacts. The interdisciplinary interactions were especially exciting and crossed all four science disciplines.

Click the title of this news item or the image below for more images from the poster party. scientists standing in front of a poster

Newman and NASA Goddard Receive United Nations' Highest Environmental Honor


Paul Newman and NASA Goddard received the United Nations' highest environmental honor - the 'Champions of the Earth' award. The award was announced Dec. 5 during the UN Environment Assembly in Nairobi, Kenya.

Newman and NASA Goddard received the award for their contributions to the Montreal Protocol, which resulted in a reduction of 99% of the substances which deplete the ozone layer, promoting its recovery.

Science Jamboree event photos

The 2016 Science Jamboree was a great success! A collection of 50 photos from the event are available now.

ATom 2016: World Survey of the Atmosphere

Over the next few weeks a handful of ATom scientists will be blogging about their around-the-world journey on NASA’s DC-8 flying laboratory – a plane the size of a midsize commercial airliner stuffed with 22 scientific instruments for sampling the air.

Thomas Reuters 2015 Highly Cited Researchers

Steven Pawson (610.1), Gavin Schmidt (611), Mian Chin (614), Brent Holben (618), Susanne Bauer (611/CU) and Greg Faluvegi (611/CU) have been named as Thomas Reuters 2015 Highly Cited Researchers. They have been identified as being among the most valuable and significant researchers in the field of Geosciences. Congratulations to all!

AAAS Names NASA Goddard Scientists 2015 Fellows

Three scientists in the Sciences and Exploration Directorate have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Lucy McFadden (693), Jose Rodriguez (614) and Compton Tucker (618) are among 347 AAAS members awarded this honor for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. Congratulations!

EOS Buzz Highlight

The recent JGR Atmospheres article by S. Strahan, A. Douglass, P. Newman, and S. Steenrod was highlighted in the most recent edition of AGU's electronic newsletter, EOS Buzz.

Research Highlighted in AGU's EOS Buzz

Science efforts by Goddard atmospheric scientists was highlighted in the most recent edition of AGU's electronic newsletter, EOS Buzz.

Strahan awarded 2014 Editor's Citation

Congratulations to Dr. Susan Strahan for receiving the 2014 Editor's Citation for Excellence in Refereeing for the Journal of Geophysical Research - Atmospheres.

Sullivan wins Best Poster

Congratulations to John Sullivan for his poster, "Initial Results Obtained from a Different Absorption Lidar (DIAL) to Measure Tropospheric Ozone" being selected as Best Poster at the 18th Joint Conference on the Applications of Air Pollution Meteorology with the A&WMA.

Bhartia wins 2014 AMS Remote Sensing Prize

Congratulations to Dr. P.K. Bhartia for being recognized with the prestigious 2014 American Meteorological Society (AMS) Remote Sensing Prize. The AMS gives this award biannually to recognize individuals for advances in the science and technology of remote sensing, and its application to knowledge of the earth oceans, and atmosphere, and/or to the benefit of society.

SENEX 2013

Glenn Wolfe and Thomas Hanisco are participating in the SENEX campaign. The ISAF instrument will be measuring in situ formaldehyde on the NOAA P3 out of Smyrna, TN in June and July. The science goal is to investigate the formation mechanism of organic aerosol over the southeastern US.

Ozone Poster Wins International Design Award

Congratulations to Ginger Butcher, Edward Celarier, and Eric Nash for their work on the poster, "The Ozone Hole: Over 30 Years of NASA Observations” that won a 2013 Communicator Award for Excellence in Print and Design announced by the International Academy of the Visual Arts. With over 6000 entries received in 2013 from the US and around the world, the Communicator Awards is the largest and most competitive awards program honoring the creative excellence for communications professionals. The poster employs stunning infographic format to highlight NASA's ozone hole observations between 1979 to 2012 from a variety of NASA missions including Aura and Suomi NPP.

Douglass Selected for Nordberg Prize

Dr. Anne Douglass has been selected as the recipient for the 2013 William Nordberg Memorial Award for Earth Science. The Nordberg Award is GSFC's highest award in the area of Earth science. The prize is for Anne's many years of leadership of satellite missions studying atmospheric composition, and her pioneering work in using measurements to test models

Create NASA Earth Day Video, Win Seats to Launch

To mark Earth Day 2012, we are inviting you to create your own compelling video vision of NASA's exploration of Earth. You could be selected to view the launch of an upcoming Earth science mission in person! Deadline is May 31, 2012.
Patrick Lynch
Results Page: 1
NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration