Astroparticle Physics Laboratory (661) Home

Science Jamboree Attracts Interns, Scientists from Across Goddard
NASA's Fermi Sees Record Flare from a Black Hole in a Distant Galaxy
NASA's Swift Reveals a Black Hole Bull's-eye

See all Press Releases & Feature Stories »

Featured Video

Laboratory News

Klumpke-Roberts Award Winners

The Klumpke-Roberts Award of the ASP is awarded annually to an individual or individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the public understanding and appreciation of astronomy. Jerry Bonnell (661) and Bob Nemiroff (Michigan Tech) were selected for their work on Astronomy Picture of the Day.

Honorary Degree Awarded to Julie McEnery

On June 16, 2015, Dr. Julie McEnery was awarded an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science from University College, Dublin. The award was given for leadership in Gamma-ray astrophysics and for bridging the divide between the ground and space-based gamma-ray communities.
More Laboratory News »


The Astroparticle Physics Laboratory conducts research in cosmic ray and gamma ray high-energy astrophysics. Researchers investigate high-energy phenomena in the universe in terms of unified theories of fundamental interactions. The Laboratory conducts a broad range of space-based scientific studies of the origin, nature, and effect of cosmic rays. Researchers also observe gamma radiation that carries the signatures of physical processes at work throughout the universe. The birth and evolution of black holes and other compact objects is a key area of investigation. The Laboratory emphasizes the development of new detectors and instrumentation technologies.

Aspirations and Outlook for NASA Cosmic Ray Research on Balloons and in Space (PDF)

Contact Us

Dr. Neil Gehrels
Principal Investigator [600]
Chief [661]
Project Scientist [661]
Deputy Project Scientist [661]
Principal Investigator [661]

General inquiries about the scientific programs at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center may be directed to the Center Public Affairs office at 1.301.286.8955.

NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration