Sciences and Exploration Directorate (600) Recent Awards & Honors

John C. Lindsay Memorial Award for Space Science

Recipient: Steven L Snowden (662)
For developing the first physically coherent picture of the Local Hot Bubble.

AAS Harold C. Urey Prize

Recipient: Geronimo L Villanueva (690)
The 2015 Urey Prize winner is Dr. Geronimo Villanueva. For his work with comets and with Mars’ atmosphere; his spectroscopic databases; his molecular calculations; his models of comet excitation; his work on the minor species in the Martian atmosphere, and much more, Villanueva is recognized as one of the best young spectroscopists in his generation. His additional work with instrumentation, programming ability, data handling and visualization skills, and collaborative team building collectively distinguish him.
Full Citation
NASA Press Release

NASA Honor Award - Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal

Recipients: Steven L Snowden (662), Tod E Strohmayer (662)
Stephen Snowden: For developing the first physically coherent picture of the Local Hot Bubble
Tod Strohmayer: For demonstrating the existence of intermediate mass black holes

NASA Honor Award - Outstanding Leadership Medal

Recipients: Keith C Gendreau (662), Richard L Kelley (660)
Keith Gendreau: For outstanding leadership in bringing the Neutron Star Interior Composition ExploreR (NICER) instrument through Critical Design Review
Richard Kelley: For exceptional contributions to the development of high-resolution X-ray spectrometers and outstanding leadership of the Astro-H Soft X-ray Spectrometer team

IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Astrophysics

Sept, 2015
Recipient: Sylvain Germain Guiriec (661)
The 2015 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Astrophysics was awarded to Sylvain Guiriec for his “insightful and innovative contributions towards understanding the nature of Gamma Ray Burst (GRB) prompt emission, in particular the establishment of multi-component spectra, and the discovery of a new Peak Energy – Luminosity relation showing that GRBs can be used as standard candles and thereby as unique cosmological probes.”
2015 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Astrophysics

AMS Hydrologic Sciences Medal

Recipient: Randal D. Koster (610.1)
The Hydrologic Sciences Medal is granted to researchers who make outstanding contributions to scientific knowledge in hydrology, hydrometeorology and/or hydroclimatology, including interactions between the land surface and the atmosphere. Dr. Randy Koster was selected for the inaugural medal “for ground-breaking contributions to the understanding of land-atmosphere interactions and their effects on hydroclimatic predictability and prediction.”
American Meteorological Society
Hydrological Sciences Medal
See all Awards »
NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration